Guest Blog: Jenny Schwartz

I’m thrilled to welcome the lovely Jenny Schwartz, fellow Carina Press author and another November releasee, to my blog for a visit.  Her book, “Angel Thief” hits e-bookstores November 29th.  I’ve gotten out the big klieg lights,  set out my most uncomfortable chair and asked her the hard questions:  dark chocolate or milk; Edward or Jacob; boxers or briefs.  What I won’t do for my readers (and Jenny’s!)

Without further ado, Jenny…

1.  Tell us about the genesis of your story.  Was there a ‘kernel’ of an idea that you grew step by step or did the characters just march into your head, fully formed?  (BTW, my characters are quite stroppy and ill-mannered.  I’m hoping that if yours are better behaved, they’ll teach mine some manners!)

Oh my characters are angels 😉

When Carina Press accepted my first novella, “The Price of Freedom”, Deb Nemeth (my editor) asked if I intended to write any other angel and djinn stories or if it stood alone. Well, ask any writer if they have ideas and of course they do!

Sara was a minor character in “Angel Thief”, but obviously she needed her own story. At the same time, Filip was insisting that I write about him, an Australian djinni. “Angel Thief” was born, and so was the series, “Out of the Bottle”. Unfortunately, neither Sara nor Filip live by the rule KISS (Keep It Simple, Stupid) so their story took a bit of untangling. It was great fun.

2.  Everyone has their own writing process.  What does yours look like?

Does staring at a blank screen count? I’ve tried to be a plotter, but I’m more a pantster. So writing for me is the idea, the characters, an idea of the journey and ending, then butt in chair and type wildly. I tend to edit as I go.

It sounds boring, and it is for an outside observer, but for me it’s wonderful. There is no adventure quite like discovering the weirdness lurking in my own mind.

3.  When you’re not writing, what sort of reading do you enjoy?  Tell us about one book that we’d *never* guess was on your shelves?

I read a lot of romance and mystery stories, some science fiction and fantasy, occasionally poetry, history and current affairs. Since my shelves are double stacked with books I’ve been trying to give away some of the weirder inclusions, but I think I still have a copy of “Executive Mystic” which is a fantastic mix of New Age/Alternative Thinking advice for reaching the corner office. I particularly liked summoning your power animal – though I’ve no idea what mine is – probably a mouse!
4.  Boat sinks.  Desert island (I leave the possibility of a stunningly attractive co-castaway up to your imagination and any mutually consenting, life-affirming activities up to you ;)).  In between gargling with salt water, doing your best Brooke Shields impersonation and fighting for your life, you saved three things.  They were?

This question stumped me, so I asked a friend. At first we were hung up on all the electronic gadgets that wouldn’t work…but then I realised the answers were obvious.

First, Bear Grylls. My friend thought I was crazy until I pointed out someone had to shin up the coconut palms and kill the creepy crawlies (though possibly someone who killed the creepy crawlies without eating them would be a better Man Friday).

Second a parrot, possibly a macaw. Idle hours on the desert island would give me time to teach it important phrases like “Buy my book!” and “Readers are sexy!”. I’ve always wanted a parrot. As a kid, my great aunt had a cockatoo. He considered himself a “pretty boy”, one of the few phrases he knew.

Third, bathroom scales. There I am, stranded without chocolate, I’d be bound to lose weight. Very important to record that win!

Of course, why I’d have these three things/people with me when the boat sank *shrug* Fortunately desert island fantasies are very accommodating.

5.  Tell me about upcoming projects you might be working on.  Are they connected to this release or are they stand alones?

“Three Wishes” is my third “Out of the Bottle” novella. It’s due  for release with Carina Press mid-2011, so there’s edits and art fact sheets and similar stuff (elegant term!) to do for that. As for new projects, I’m working on an urban fantasy novella which is very hush-hush for fear I can’t get the magic in it to work and a fourth angel and djinn story with a twist. In “Persian Flames” the djinni is free, not bound to a bottle, with only a small problem like saving the world.

***

Angel Thief, from Carina Press

http://bit.ly/AngThief

She’s breaking the rules. Again.
An archivist in the heavenly library, Sara must follow protocol when it comes to curating the knowledge of the universe. But “liberating” an ancient text from the collection of a human—an Australian drug lord—could save a boy’s life. Sara has no way of knowing that one of the man’s other treasures is a sexy-as-sin djinni, bound by a wish to guard the estate.


He’s only following orders
.
Filip is compelled to turn over intruders, even celestial ones, to his master. When he catches Sara in the library, he isn’t above indulging in some sensual kisses with her, or using her to trick the mobster into wasting a wish. It’s what he must do to preserve his facade of freedom and protect his heart.

But the kidnapping of the drug lord’s daughter forces Sara and Filip to work together—bringing out the hero that lurks within the soul of the djinni, and the passion within the angel.

***

You can find Jenny:

at her website http://www.authorjennyschwartz.com/

blogging http://www.acquiring-magic.blogspot.com/

One thought on “Guest Blog: Jenny Schwartz

Leave a Reply

